Qué hora es en Colombia?

Hola! It’s me again, Jaime Slater. I arrived late last night in Medellin and was greeted by a small, but happy contingent from the ACJ-Medellin (YMCA) at the airport. Although it had been a year since I was in Medellin, it felt like no time has passed at all. Ah time…time is a funny thing when you’re traveling.

 My internal time clock is pretty off kilter at the moment. Like many of you reading this, I sprung forward on Sunday morning. I did not, however, realize that Medellin was in a slightly different time zone until late this afternoon. It now makes sense to me why I couldn’t understand how I landed one hour later that originally scheduled. It also means that I could have slept in an extra hour since it was actually 6:30 a.m. when I woke up today. I have now fallen back and (think) I’m rolling with the rest of Medellin now…but perhaps only time will tell.

 I officially began my work exchange today and spent the day discussing concepts of philanthropy and giving, and also planning out my schedule with Alexandra, ACJ Executive Director and Gloria, ACJ Board member. Our discussions were in-depth, lively and at times really very funny, mostly due to language. I’m very thankful I studied Spanish at the Spanish Centre before I left…I’m surprising myself at how much I understand. Sadly, I can’t say very much in return and for those of you who know me well, you can imagine just how difficult that is for me. I will say that spending $1 on a dry erase wipe board at the dollar store before I left was probably one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. I’ll write more about language in a future blog.

 Spanish word of the day: Muy ocupada (very busy)…this describes what my first 10 days is shaping up to look like.

3 thoughts on “Qué hora es en Colombia?

  1. Welcome to my world Jaime! lol

    A language barrier can be very frustrating sometimes, but I think you have a better chance to go through when you are able to understand some spanish, keep your good energy, optimism and your funny humor and you are going to be fine! enjoy the experience! and keep close your Englis-Spanish dictionary

    Hugs!

  2. for those of you who know me well, you can imagine just how difficult that is for me.

    Oh yes, I can imagine! :D

    Looking forward to reading about your adventures. Knowing you, I’m sure you’ll be speaking more in no time!

Tell Us What You Think

